All The Taco Time Vegan Menu Options

Important Note: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Content, pricing, offers and availability are subject to change at any time - more info.

Listen up, folks. If you’re a vegan and you’re craving some Mexican-inspired fast food, then you might want to give Taco Time a try. But let me tell you, the options are pretty limited. Most of the menu is loaded with cheese and milk-based ingredients. However, if you’re willing to do a bit of customizing, you can still enjoy a vegan meal at Taco Time.

Here is a super quick overview of all the vegan options:

Menu ItemDish TypeNotes
5 Alarm Hot SauceSauce
BBQ SauceSauce
Banana PeppersTopping
Black OlivesTopping
Cherry PeppersTopping
Chips & SalsaSide
Create Your Own Taco/BurritoMainUse vegan toppings, sauces, salsas and tortillas/shells
Enchilada SauceSauce
Hot SauceSauce
Lemon WedgeTopping
Lime WedgeTopping
Mexi-FriesSideDo not order the Stuffed version, has cheese
Picante SauceSauce
Pickled JalapenosTopping
Salsa FrescaSalsa
Salsa NuevoSalsa
Salsa VerdeSalsa
Sunflower SeedsTopping
Tortilla ChipsTopping
Wheat TortillaTortilla
White TortillaTortilla
Note: Cross-contamination can occur. Menu items as of 1/12/2023. Some item are only available at certain locations. Please ask your server to confirm these options as they may have changed.

First of all, let me tell you what Taco Time is. It’s a fast food chain that serves a variety of Mexican-inspired dishes, including tacos, burritos, and nachos. They’re located all over the place on the West Coast excluding California, so you’re likely to find one near you if you live there.

Now, let’s talk about the vegan options. The Mexi-Fries are vegan, but just make sure to steer clear of the Stuffed Mexi-Fries, as they contain cheese. You can also create your own taco or burrito by starting with a vegan taco shell or flour tortilla and then loading it up with toppings like banana peppers, black olives, cilantro, guacamole, and more. All of their hot sauces and salsas are vegan-friendly as well. And if you’re in the mood for some chips and salsa, go for it – they’re vegan too.

Now, let me be clear, the beans and rice at Taco Time aren’t vegan by default. They’re typically served with cheese, but you can ask for them without. But, you should check with your local Taco Time location to verify if the beans and rice can be served vegan as some prepare them differently. This will greatly expand your options at Taco Time.

In summary, if you’re a vegan and you’re craving some Mexican-inspired fast food, then give Taco Time a try. The options are limited, but with a bit of customization, you can still enjoy a vegan meal. And as always, check with your server at your local location for the availability of vegan options as they may change by region.

Note: Here is the Taco Time Allergen guide, if you have any other specific questions, this may be a helpful resource.

Recent Recipes