All The Red Robin Vegan Menu Options

Important Note: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Content, pricing, offers and availability are subject to change at any time - more info.

Sometimes there’s nothing better than a tasty burger and a side of French fries. But if you’re a vegan, your options are few and far between… unless you choose to eat at Red Robin.

That’s right! Red Robin has a variety of excellent vegan options to choose from, including several tasty vegan and vegetarian-friendly burgers. Let’s break down these burgers and all other Red Robin vegan options in detail so you know what to order the next time you visit this restaurant.

Vegan Burgers at Red Robin

Red Robin is primarily known for its burgers, so it’s a good thing you can get some tasty patties and toppings even if you’re a vegan at this eatery! In fact, Red Robin is one of the few restaurants where you can get multiple vegan burgers without too much difficulty.

First up is the Impossible Gourmet Cheeseburger. Naturally, this is made with 100% plant-based Impossible meat, so it’s totally vegan friendly from start to finish. That said, the cheeseburger comes with its titular cheese by default. Because of this, you’ll need to order it without any American cheese or premium mayonnaise if you want to make it 100% vegan. You should also order it without any dill pickle slices, as the pickles are prepared with some animal products.

Next up is Red Robin’s Keep It Simple Veggie Burger. This is another delicious vegetarian burger that can also be ordered to be vegan friendly as long as you order it without any dill pickle slices.

Of course, while these two options are ready to go right off the menu, you can also order the veggie burger patty by itself or use the patty in any of the other Red Robin meal options. The Veggie Vegan Burger is essentially the Impossible Cheeseburger with the modifications described above.

Fortunately, this does mean that your Red Robin server will know exactly what you mean when you ask for one of these vegan-friendly burger options!

Don’t forget that you can also customize practically any burger on Red Robin’s menu. There are lots of vegan toppings and bun types you can ask for if you prefer your burger to be a specific way. The vegan-friendly burger buns include:

  • A brioche bun
  • A tavern bun
  • A classic sesame bun
  • A wedgy style bun, though this is made of lettuce rather than bread

There are also plenty of vegan-friendly burger toppings to choose from, including:

  • Avocado
  • Guacamole
  • Red’s Relish
  • Red Robin cayenne seasoning
  • Red Robin traditional seasoning
  • Red onion rings
  • Grilled pineapple rings
  • House-made salsa
  • Shredded iceberg lettuce
  • Tomato slices

As you can see, it’s totally possible to put together a delicious vegan-appropriate burger no matter what your personal taste preferences are. For this reason alone, Red Robin is a great place to check out for lunch or dinner if you’re a vegan!

Red Robin Vegan Salads and Sides

Aside from burgers, Red Robin also offers a handful of salad and side options you can choose to complement your meal or make it a complete lunch/dinner. These include:

  • Red Robin’s Bottomless House Salad. This is the best salad to choose from at Red Robin since any other salad options include animal products or byproducts that you have to remove. By the time you get rid of those, you’ll basically have the Bottomless House Salad anyway. When ordering this salad, be sure to do so without any croutons or shredded cheddar cheese
  • Of course, you can order the regular side salad. But this is the same thing as the above order without the unlimited seconds – if you love salad, order the Bottomless version for better value for money
  • Steak fries. As with practically any of the French fries, cross-contamination is a factor to keep in mind if this affects whether something is vegan friendly to you
  • Steamed broccoli, which can be ordered by default without having to worry about non-vegan ingredients
  • Apple slices
  • Fresh carrots. These are pretty good, but they don’t beat tasty carrot snacks you can make at home, like our lacto-fermented carrots with curry leaves!

Other Vegan Options at Red Robin

Of course, Red Robin also offers some vegan sauces if you want to add them to your French fries or put them on your burger. These include the Red Robin cocktail sauce, guacamole, house-made salsa, and island heat sauce.

Red Robin Vegan Options FAQs

What is the vegan burger at Red Robin made from?

The Veggie Burger, not the Impossible Burger, is made from quinoa and ancient grains. Thus, it’s a 100% vegan-friendly burger choice. You can order it as part of the vegetarian and vegan burger choices described above. Alternatively, you can use it to substitute for the other burger options on the Red Robin menu.
But we still recommend choosing from one of the vegan or vegetarian specific burgers since these don’t come with as many animal products you’ll need to ask to be removed.

Is cross-contamination a big deal at Red Robin?

Yes. According to Red Robin themselves, the steak fries don’t include any animal products by default. But Red Robin does use a shared fryer for cooking steak fries and similar items. You shouldn’t eat the steak fries at Red Robin if you are afraid of cross-contamination or if cross-contamination makes something no longer vegan friendly in your eyes.

Is Red Robin a Good Place for Vegans to Eat?

Absolutely! Although it doesn’t have nearly as many sides or sauces that are vegan friendly compared to many other eateries or fast-food restaurants, Red Robin has something that those other places don’t: vegan-friendly burgers.

That’s plural! Many other eateries only have one vegan-friendly burger, if that. Red Robin has several different vegan-friendly burger options to choose from, so you can try them all and choose which one is your favorite. That alone makes it a great place to grab a bite to eat for lunch or dinner.

However, you might also want to check out some additional restaurants with good vegan menu items to choose from. If that’s the case, you can check out our vegan restaurant guides on Cook Gem!

Recent Recipes