Are Takis Vegan?

Important Note: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Content, pricing, offers and availability are subject to change at any time - more info.

Sour gummy worms, Pop-Tarts, Cheetos… You’ve already had to give up some of your favorite snacks as a vegan. Do you have to stop eating Takis, too?

That depends on the flavor you choose. 

If you’re asking, “Are Takis vegan?”, the answer isn’t quick or all-inclusive. Before you rip open that bag, you have to take a closer look at the ingredients. But unless you know exactly what to look for, this might not be super helpful. 

We’ve done the hard work for you and put together this list so you don’t have to guess when it comes to Takis. Make sure you keep reading below to learn more. 

So Are Takis Vegan?

In most cases, yes.

You can generally grab a bag of Takis and enjoy the snack without breaking your morals or feeling guilty. But you have to be careful! This isn’t true of all Takis. 

To understand what makes Takis vegan or non-vegan (and to help you stay away from the wrong choices), we have to go on an ingredient deep dive. 

What’s Inside Your Bag of Takis?

The basic recipe of Takis is vegan, and all Takis are made the same way. Your Takis are made from the following ingredients:

  • Corn flour 
  • Vegetable oil 
  • Preservatives 
  • Colors
  • Seasonings 

These are all plant-based and cruelty-free components, which makes them vegan. It’s the flavoring that’s the problem. This is where things start to get tricky. 

Some Takis flavors introduce non-vegan products, such as cheese or chicken fat. To ensure you aren’t putting the wrong thing in your mouth, you’ll have to avoid certain flavors. 

Vegan or Not? Takis Flavor Guide

The next time you’re wondering what Takis are vegan, all you have to do is check this list. Make sure you bookmark this list on your phone until you have it memorized. 

Takis Fuego – Vegan!

As the most popular Takis flavor, you might be too afraid to ask the question, “Are Fuego Takis vegan?” Well, you don’t have to worry anymore. Fuego Takis are completely vegan. 

Takis Blue Heat – Vegan!

If you prefer Blue Heat to Fuego, you’re in luck! This is another vegan Takis flavor, so you can keep snacking to your heart’s content. 

Takis Nitro – Vegan!

Nitro is also a vegan-safe option. If you want to branch out and try something new, there are this is a good bag to pick. 

Takis Zombie Nitro – Vegan!

As another offshoot of the Nitro flavor, Takis Zombie Nitro is also safe for vegans. As long as the bag has the word “Nitro” on it, you’re good to go! 

Takis Wild – Not Vegan!

This is our first non-vegan type of Takis on the list. This flavor contains whey, which comes from milk, so you should stay away from these Takis. 

Takis Xplosion – Not Vegan!

One of the main ingredients in Takis Xplosion is cheese. This makes it non-vegan, so you’ll have to pick a different flavor instead. 

Takis Xtra Hot – Not Vegan!

Unfortunately for all you heat lovers out there, Xtra Hot Takis are not vegan. They contain a number of non-vegan ingredients, so you’ll have to get that extra kick of spice somewhere else. 

Takis Crunchy Fajita – Not Vegan!

These Takis contain things like milk, eggs, etc. Choose a different flavor instead. Not vegan.

Takis Titan – Not Vegan!

Again, this Takis flavor isn’t vegan. You’ll have better luck sticking to more classic flavors (which, let’s be honest, are some of the best anyway). 

Takis Angry Burger – Not Vegan!

The name implies meat, and, yup, you guessed correctly. This flavor isn’t vegan. It adds things like milk and eggs to the normal recipe, so you should steer clear. 

Takis Volcano Queso – Not Vegan!

Cheese is literally in the name, so as you can imagine, this isn’t a vegan-friendly Takis option. If you want a cheesy taste with your Takis, try dipping them in some vegan cheese instead. 

Takis Lava – Not Vegan!

Like Volcano Queso Takis, the Lava Takis flavor contains cheese as well. Because of this, you should leave these on the store shelf and pick something else. 

Takis Scorpion BBQ – Vegan!

This is another good choice for vegans who want to try a new flavor. If you enjoy BBQ, these Takis might just become your new favorite. 

Takis Guacamole – Not Vegan!

If you love guacamole, don’t let yourself get too excited by this Takis flavor. It does contain milk, so you’ll have to stick to dipping tortilla chips in fresh guacamole to get your fix. 

Other Takis Flavors

We’ve covered some of the most popular flavors on this list to help you navigate the world of Takis. However, this doesn’t include every Takis flavor out there. 

If you stumble across a flavor we haven’t included in this list, make sure you read the ingredients carefully before you buy them. You may also find new flavors that pop up over time, so make sure you stay up to do date so you know what Takis you can and can’t eat as a vegan. 

Always do your research. When it comes to Takis, it’s always better to be safe than sorry. 

Choosing Vegan-Friendly Takis

Are Takis vegan? It goes back and forth depending on the flavor, so if you aren’t 100% positive a specific Takis flavor is vegan, you shouldn’t eat it. However, that doesn’t mean you have to give up Takis entirely. 

Are you missing some of your favorite non-vegan foods? Make sure you check out some of our vegan recipes to learn how to make alternatives! 

And don’t forget to keep this list handy the next time you go grocery shopping! 

Recent Recipes