Important Note: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Content, pricing, offers and availability are subject to change at any time - more info.
If you got a hankering for some Mexican food, you might want to stop in at Del Taco. What if you’re a vegan? Good news – Del Taco actually has a pretty good spread of vegan options available! In fact, it’s a much better choice for vegans compared to Taco Bell and other fast-food Mexican chain restaurants.
With that said, let’s break down everything you can eat safely as a vegan at Del Taco so you know what to order the next time you stop by one of their restaurants!
Here is a quick overview of the vegan options on the menu:
|Type of Dish
|Bean & Cheese Burrito Kid Loco Meal
|No cheese, includes fries and drink
|Beyond 8 Layer Burrito
|No cheese or sour cream, comes with Beyond Meat crumbles, beans, guacamole, diced tomatoes, lettuce, and red sauce
|Beyond Guacamole Taco
|Comes with Beyond Meat crumbles, guacamole, lettuce, and diced tomatoes in a crunchy shell
|Beyond Meat Taco Salad with Fresh Guac
|No cheese or sour cream, comes with Beyond Meat crumbles, fresh guacamole, pico de gallo, cilantro, chips, and salsa casera
|No cheese, comes with Beyond Meat crumbles, lettuce, and diced tomatoes in a crunchy shell
|California Chili Sauce
|Chips & Fresh Guacamole
|Crinkle Cut Fries
|May have cross contamination with animal products
|No cheese, optional: add guacamole
|Epic Beyond Fresh Guacamole Burrito
|Comes with Beyond Meat, beans, lime rice, pico de gallo, and guacamole
|Fresh House-Made Guacamole
|No queso or sour cream, add guacamole
|Pico De Gallo
|Queso Loaded Nachos
|No queso or sour cream, add guacamole
|The Del Taco
|Substitute beef with beans, no cheese, top with vegan sauces and/or add guacamole
|Substitute beef with beans, no cheese, crunchy or soft
Vegan Meals at Del Taco
Unlike many other fast food eateries, Del Taco actually has several 100% vegan main meals or entrées for you to check out. These include:
- The Avocado Veggie Bowl. You can order this as is without any adjustments!
- The Beyond Meat Avocado Taco – that’s right, this is a taco that actually uses plant-based meat! Since it’s designed for vegans and/or vegetarians, you can order it as is
- The Beyond Meat Taco. Unfortunately, you need to order this without cheese since it comes with fromage by default
- The Soft Del Taco. This is pretty similar to the Beyond Meat Taco, but it uses a soft shell. Ask for no cheese and swap out the meat for beans or the above-mentioned Beyond Meat
- The Beyond Mean 8-Layer Burrito. Just order this without sour cream and cheese and you’re all set!
- The 8-Layer Veggie Burrito. Again, order this without cheese or sour cream
- Jacked Up Value Bean, Rice & Cheese Burrito. With this one, order it without the titular cheese
- CrunchTada Tostada. Order this without cheese to make it 100% vegan-friendly
- ½ lb Bean & Cheese Burrito. Order it without cheese, and you can substitute the cheese for cilantro lime rice if you like for no extra charge
- The Epic Beyond Cali Burrito. This needs to be ordered without sour cream, but keep in mind that it’s only available at some Del Taco locations
As you can see, Del Taco is one of the few fast-food restaurants that offers a ton of vegan-friendly main menu items right off the bat. So you never need to worry about not finding a bite to eat here when you are really hungry on the road!
In many ways, it’s similar to Taco Time, which also offers a good range of vegan options. Consider trying both fast-food eateries to compare!
Vegan Side Options at Del Taco
Even better, Del Taco also offers a variety of vegan side options you can check out if you just want a snack. Or you can order these to complete your main menu meal above. The vegan-friendly sides at Del Taco include:
- Chips with guacamole or avocado
- Beans and cheese side cup. Obviously, you need to order this without cheese!
- Crinkle-cut fries. The fries are made in a shared fryer, however, so the risk of cross-contamination is certainly a concern. If that makes it something non-vegan in your eyes, the French fries technically don’t count as vegan friendly
- Hashbrown sticks. Most Del Taco restaurants only allow you to order these for breakfast, however
While it’s not a huge spread of vegan-friendly sides, Del Taco more than makes up for it with its plethora of main menu items above.
Salads, Sauces, and More for Vegans at Del Taco
We’d also like to point out that Del Taco offers salad and several different dressings or sauces you can healthily eat as a vegan.
For salad, simply order Del Taco’s Signature Taco Salad. All you have to do is specify no cheese and swap out the meat that comes with a solid by default for beans. Alternatively, you can swap out the regular meat for Beyond Meat, but you may have to pay a little bit extra for it. Still, that could be a good change in our book!
The vegan-friendly sauces and dressings you can eat include:
- Green sauce
- Taco sauce
- Red sauce
- Salsa casera
- California chili sauce
- Pico de gallo
Given all these different available sauces and the sides above, you can easily construct a great vegan salad for your lunch or as a side to your dinner in no time.
Unfortunately, Del Taco’s dessert options are not vegan friendly since each of them contains either dairy and/or eggs. Furthermore, you can’t modify the dessert recipes to make them vegan-friendly after the fact.
Del Taco Vegan Options FAQs
No, sadly. Del Taco’s famous churros are not vegan friendly, so you’ll need to satisfy your sweet tooth somewhere else.
Good memory! While Del Taco used to offer a vegan-friendly cilantro sauce, it’s no longer the case. Instead, the only cilantro sauce Del Taco offers is technically a dressing and it contains eggs and dairy. So it may be suitable for vegetarians, but not for vegans.
It sure is, although some Del Taco restaurants may actually cook their rice in lard. It’s tough to say whether this rumor is true or not, and it may be down to regional preferences or recipes.
Generally speaking, the rice at Del Taco should be vegan friendly. To be sure, call ahead to your local Del Taco restaurant and ask if the rice is cooked with lard before ordering any rice with your meal. They’re legally obligated to tell you the truth.
Is Del Taco a Good Restaurant for Vegans?
As you can see, Del Taco is a great restaurant for vegans to check out things to its plethora of vegan-friendly main menu items, healthy sides, and other snacks. In fact, Del Taco is one of the best fast-food restaurants for vegans overall, and it’s probably only going to get better in the future.
After all, where else can you get plant-based meat in your taco? Certainly not Taco Bell!
Want to know where else you can get tasty vegan meals at your favorite restaurants? Check out our breakdown of vegan menus here!