All The Jack In The Box Vegan Menu Options

Important Note: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Content, pricing, offers and availability are subject to change at any time - more info.

Jack in the Box is a popular fast-food establishment throughout America, but there’s no denying that most of its most famous menu items contain meat or animal products. If you’re a vegan and spot a Jack in the Box on the road, you might wonder whether there’s anything good for you to eat at this restaurant.

Today, let’s break down all the vegan options at Jack in the Box in detail. But before we do, here is a quick overview of the vegan menu options:

Menu ItemType of DishNotes
Apple BitesSideOrder without caramel dip
BBQ Dipping SauceSauce
French FriesSideMay be cross-contaminated with animal products
Grape JellyCondiment
Hot Taco Sauce PacketSauce
KetchupCondiment
Kikkoman Soy Sauce PacketSauce
Low Fat Balsamic VinaigretteDressing
MustardCondiment
Pancake SyrupCondiment
Potato WedgesSideMay be cross-contaminated with animal products
Side SaladSaladOrder without cheese or croutons, with low fat balsamic vinaigrette
Strawberry JamCondiment
Sweet N’ Sour Dipping SauceSauce
Teriyaki Dipping SauceSauce
Teriyaki BowlEntreeOrder without chicken
Tree Top ApplesauceSide
Impossible BurgerEntreeSelect locations, bun may not be vegan
Note: Menu items as of 1/9/2023 as menu items may have changed.

Entrees and Sides for Vegans at Jack in the Box

Unfortunately, your options for main menu items or entrées are pretty slim at Jack in the Box. In fact, there’s only one technically vegan entrée you can order: the chicken teriyaki bowl. Naturally, you need to order this without the chicken. Instead, we recommend ordering it with extra veggies so you get some extra calories and vitamins in your meal.

Aside from that, you are essentially limited to sides, sauces, condiments, and a few other random things here and there on the menu. The vegan sides at Jack in the Box include:

  • A side salad. Be sure to order this with low-fat balsamic vinaigrette to keep it vegan friendly and make sure it tastes delicious rather than just like plain greens
  • French fries. The French fries, along with several other menu items, are subject to cross-contamination risk. That’s because they use shared food preparing surfaces or tools with menu items that include animal products. If cross-contamination bothers you, French fries and a few other items may not truly count as vegan friendly in your eyes
  • The potato wedges. Just like French fries, this menu item is subject to cross-contamination risk. However, they are quite tasty!
  • The seasoned curly fries. The same warning about cross-contamination for the above two menu items applies here as well
  • The hashbrowns. These are only available for breakfast orders and they are also at a risk for cross-contamination, so keep this in mind if you order them
  • The Chiquita Apple Bites. While these are great snacks for breakfast or lunch, you have to order them without any caramel dip. Jack in the Box’s caramel dip is partly made with dairy products
  • Tree Top Applesauce. Fortunately, this comes in a sealed container, so you don’t need to worry about cross-contamination

That’s it. As you can see, it’s pretty difficult to put together a nutritionally complete or filling meal at Jack in the Box if you’re a vegan. But if you just need a quick snack and don’t mind the risk of cross-examination, one of the fries or some other sides could be just the ticket and you can get back on the road in no time thanks to Jack in the Box’s drive-thru.

What About Vegan Sauces at Jack in the Box?

Aside from sides and the chicken teriyaki bowl, Jack in the Box does have some vegan-friendly sauces you might want to add to your order of fries. These vegan-friendly sauces include:

  • The sweet-and-sour dipping sauce
  • The barbecue dipping sauce
  • The Frank’s red hot buffalo sauce
  • The teriyaki dipping sauce
  • Mustard
  • Ketchup
  • The fire-roasted salsa
  • The hot taco sauce packet
  • The Kikkoman soy sauce packet
  • Grape jelly, strawberry jam, and pancake syrup

All of these are only vegan friendly since they come in sealed packets or packages, however. It’s not as though Jack in the Box does anything special to make them appropriate for vegans or vegetarians!

Jack in the Box Vegan Options FAQs

Are the tacos at Jack in the Box vegan?

No, unfortunately. Many people love the tacos at Jack in the Box for their flavor and for their affordability. However, the tacos always come with meat by default.

That said, you could theoretically order tacos from Jack in the Box and make them vegan. All you have to do is ask for no meat and instead fill them in with veggies. Be sure to omit any cheese from your order to make sure you don’t accidentally cheat on your vegan diet. The taco shells at Jack in the Box are vegan and are not made with any animal products.

Are the French fries at Jack in the Box vegan?

Technically, yes, just like many other French fries. After all, they are basically fried potatoes! But although the fries are vegan, the fryers used to make the French fries are used with non-vegan foods.

If you’re a vegan who is okay with cross-contamination, French fries are a great snack or side choice if you are hankering for a bite to eat but don’t want to break your diet.

Does Jack in the Box offer any vegan burgers?

No, not yet. However, there is word that Jack in the Box may decide to offer a vegan burger on a trial basis sometime in the near future. Additionally, Jack in the Box already tested out a few vegan types of meat in 2020. Perhaps because of the pandemic, these meat options didn’t get full approval from Jack in the Box’s corporate team, so they haven’t been adopted by all of its stores.

This isn’t to say the future is totally bleak. Jack in the Box may very well decide to offer vegan burgers sometime later, just not now.

Is Jack in the Box a Good Choice for Vegans?

Ultimately, Jack in the Box isn’t a very good choice for vegans at the time of this writing. Given that there aren’t any real vegan entrées or main options to choose from, you are stuck constructing your own vegan-friendly meal or snack from the available sides.

This is similar to many other fast-food chains, like Sonic and Dairy Queen. We hoped that Jack in the Box would be a little better, but it seems that they are still lagging behind while other restaurants attract vegan diners more proactively.

Want to know more about which restaurants have good vegan food items? Check out our breakdowns of vegan menu items for your favorite restaurants on Cook Gem!


Get Foodie Deals
We collect great foodie-focused deals from across the web daily. Get yourself or your favorite foodie a great deal at big name stores.

Recent Recipes