Is Skinny Pop Vegan?

Are you one of the many fans of Skinny Pop? This popular popcorn snack has become somewhat of a trend as of late, with more people hopping on board to see what the hype is all about. But vegans have a very important question: Is Skinny Pop vegan?



We wanted to get to the bottom of the Skinny Pop craze and find out for ourselves if this trendy snack is safe for vegan diets. So join us as we investigate where Skinny Pop came from, why it’s so popular, and more.

What is Skinny Pop?

According to the maker of Skinny Pop, their tasty popcorn snack is both delicious and good for you. Furthermore, their goal was to create the best popcorn on the planet but with the fewest ingredients. Moreover, they strived to ensure that the ingredients they used were simple and clean.

Upon examining the contents of Skinny Pop, this appears to be true — Skinny Pop consists of only popcorn kernels, salt, and sunflower oil.

Since introducing Skinny Pop in 2010, the makers of the snack have produced new additions to their lineup. So not only can you find the original Skinny Pop Popcorn, but there’s also Popcorn Chips, Popcorn Cakes, and Microwave Popcorn.

In addition to having simple ingredients, there are no artificial additives or chemicals. Plus, Skinny Pop is non-GMO and gluten-free. This makes it an excellent snack for dieters who are looking for a safe alternative to the countless “junk food” popcorn options on the market.

Those products are typically loaded with all kinds of unnecessary preservatives and non-vegan-friendly ingredients and additives. You’ll never find such things in Skinny Pop, and that’s one of the reasons it is loved by so many people.

As more people strive to ditch the processed foods in favor of something more healthy, Skinny Pop remains a quality food item that’s worth checking out whether you’re vegan or not. You’ll certainly be doing your body a favor by opting not to consume the cheap, non-vegan popcorn out there.

Oh, and Skinny Pop has some truly mouth-watering flavors. We will discuss them in further detail down below. But just know that you aren’t stuck with bland-tasting popcorn. Just because it’s good for you doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy it.

Skinny Pop’s original makers worked hard to bring consumers a tasty popcorn snack. And from what we can tell in our taste tests, they have succeeded beyond measure. To learn where you can find Skinny Pop, how it compares to other healthy popcorn snacks, and whether it’s truly vegan, keep reading.

Where Can I Find Skinny Pop?

Skinny Pop is available via the company’s website or in numerous retailers across the nation. In fact, Skinny Pop is so prevalent, you’ve likely seen it in passing and just didn’t know it. But now that we’ve brought it to your attention, there’s a good chance that you’ll start seeing it everywhere.

What’s more, Skinny Pop is now owned by Hershey. The chocolate giant acquired Skinny Pop’s former owner back in 2017 in a staggering all-cash sale of $1.6 billion. Formerly owned by Amplify Snack Brands Inc., it’s clear the brand was doing something right for Hershey to have that much interest.

In any event, the fact that Hershey now owns Skinny Pop ensures that more retailers can carry the guilt-free popcorn snack. Hershey’s is a monster of a company, spanning more than 125 years of experience and buying power.

It’s safe to say Skinny Pop is in good hands and likely isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. Not only that, Skinny Pop sales have been on the rise, and the healthy snack market is absolutely booming right now with no signs of slowing down.

Oh My Ghee! vs. Skinny Pop

There are a number of popcorn products on the market today, with more coming out all the time. But when it comes to healthy popcorn products, competition isn’t as stiff. Oh My Ghee! is perhaps the most notable competitor of Skinny Pop, as the former is another gluten-free popcorn snack.

It’s also organic and uses grass-fed ghee (clarified butter) for a popcorn product that reminds you of movie theater popcorn. It’s actually quite impressive how flavorful Oh My Ghee! is, especially considering its contents of just three ingredients.

Both brands do a fine job of offering healthy alternatives to conventional popcorn. There are fewer ingredients (FAR fewer ingredients), and what’s included is generally good for you.

So, which is better? When it comes to pure quality and taste, Skinny Pop takes the lead. Oh My Ghee! is tasty, too. And its ingredients are equally healthy. But if pressed to choose a winner, we prefer the taste and texture of Skinny Pop.

So, is Skinny Pop Vegan?

Keep in mind that there is currently a total of eight flavors of Skinny Pop available, including:

  • White Cheddar (Dairy-Free)
  • Sweet and Salty Kettle
  • Aged White Cheddar
  • Sweet Vanilla Kettle
  • Sea Salt & Pepper
  • Twist of Lime
  • Real Butter
  • Original

Of the flavors listed above, only Aged White Cheddar and Real Butter are non-vegan. If you are ever uncertain as to whether a Skinny Pop flavor is vegan or non-vegan, simply examine the packaging, and you’ll be able to determine what it is.

As far as other Skinny Pop products go, you will need to check its packaging to see what you’re dealing with. Skinny Pop’s Butter flavored Microwave line of popcorn is vegan-friendly, for example. So it’s clear that Skinny Pop’s vegan efforts extend past its original popcorn line.

So if you’re looking for a healthy popcorn snack, keep your eyes peeled for Skinny Pop and its many variations. You shouldn’t have any trouble finding it in your area. But just in case you do, head over the Skinny Pop’s official website and order their goods directly from them.

If you’re interested in learning more about vegan-friendly products and ingredients, be sure to check out our vegan recipes. We explain whether various products and brands are safe for vegan diets and more.

Similar Posts